Click here to leave this site quickly



Twitter 32x32 FaceBook 32x32



The governance structure of TOAH-NNEST reflects the Te Tiriti o Waitangi-based partnership of the two whare or houses, Ngā Kaitiaki Mauri and Tauiwi Caucus.

The three-part structure enables Ngā Kaitiaki Mauri, the tangata whenua whare, to operate substantially within a Māori worldview, while ensuring that TOAH-NNEST meets its legal responsibilities.

  • Ngā Kaitiaki Mauri and Tauiwi Caucus each govern their own specific affairs in keeping with their own worldviews and priorities. Ngā Kaitiaki Mauri governs within the nine guiding kaupapa of the framework Te Ohaakii a Hine. Governance of Tauiwi Caucus is through the society TOAH-NNEST Tauiwi Caucus Incorporated, and its objects, principles and values.
  • The overall governance body of the national network is the Paetakawaenga, which has representatives from each whare.
  • The Maimoa, or the charitable entity TOAH-NNEST Trust, has the ultimate responsibility for legal and financial matters. Trustees representing Ngā Kaitiaki Mauri and Tauiwi Caucus govern as the body Te Roopu Whakahaere.

Click below for documents relevant to TOAH-NNEST governance structure.

Te Tiriti Relationship Agreement


TOAH-NNEST Tauiwi Caucus Inc Constitution

Guiding Kaupapa of NKM


Click here to learn more about governance of Ngā Kaitiaki Mauri (NKM) and Tauiwi Caucus